01-22-2014 07:48 AM
» Replies: 4
» Views: 1952

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
2000 Buick Park Ave. won't start
sparkync Offline

2000 Buick Park Ave. won't start
I have a 2000 Buick Park Avenue. It's been running fine, with the exception my wife said it had a few "issues"?? But anyway, it's been running fine as far as I know, and went out Sunday Morning to crank it, and it just spins real fast like it's going to crank, then sputters a little like maybe a sparkplug or two loose, then spins real fast again, but won't crank. Our gas gage sometimes acts up, so I thought maybe it was out of gas, so I go get 5 gallons of gas and try to put it in, but it would not take it all, so I know it's not out of gas. My experience is very limited when it comes to the newer cars, so I really don't know where to start. I can't really afford to take it to someone now, anyhow they would have to bring a wrecker to haul it off. Any suggestions where I might start? I'm an electrician by trade, so I'm pretty mechanically minded. Thanks for any help...
01-26-2009 03:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
crank.it Offline

Re: 2000 Buick Park Ave. won't start
hi sparky-no compression or spinning fast could be a timing chain issue.....crank.it

ST.MORGAN
02-02-2009 09:29 AM
jgate Offline

I had a 2000 Lesabre with a 3.8 that had the same problem, turned out the problem was, the damper valve in the fuel pump,
The pump primed but would not hold the pressure through the start mode, pressure dropped to 0 psi, but after a few seconds the pump would prime to 45 psi, just enough to give all cylinders enough fuel to cause a stutter in the start mode before it runs out of fuel.